Review: Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Hearts in Darkness (Hearts in Darkness, #1)
Hearts in Darkness
by Laura Kaye
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

UPDATE: A sequel is being released! Check out my review post of Love in the Light.

NOTE:  This review is for a book with mature content and sexy times!

I discovered Hearts in Darkness largely by accident. I had heard of Laura Kaye in passing but hadn’t read any of her work, which isn’t too surprising since I tend to gravitate more towards paranormal/fantasy than contemporary romance. As it happened, I read a blog post about a recent conference that Kaye attended, and it mentioned this novella. The premise intrigued me so I picked it up – and I am so, so happy I did.

Hearts in Darkness tells the story of how Makenna James and Caden Grayson meet in an elevator. Particularly in one that quickly breaks down and loses all electricity; at least 50% of the story takes place in pitch black. To throw another wrench in, Caden battles severe claustrophobia due to a childhood tragedy. Together, they survive the elevator and get acquainted under unconventional circumstance.

Their story is really sweet. Makenna and Caden are both interesting, caring people with different histories and a lot of common ground. It was truly a pleasure to read about them.

I highly recommend this novella. It is a delicious read and one that I am hoping to enjoy again and again. I will also be starting one of Laura Kaye’s full-length novels to see if I enjoy those as much as I did this. Hard as It Gets, here I come.

See my review on Goodreads for Some Particulars, including a steam rating!

2 thoughts on “Review: Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Leave a Reply

