Book Tag: Would you Rather?

Now that I’ve got a bunch of reviews up, I thought it would be fun to do something a little different. I came across this book tag on romance4thebeach and thought it looked like a great way to get thinking about some of my reading preferences.

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read stand-alones?

This one’s hard because I really love both. I’m a big series fan, so if I could, I would pick series without limiting myself to three books. That being said, it can be hard to find a good series that sticks with the same main characters and keeps things interesting. Here are some of my favorites:

Trilogies with persistent mains:

Die for Me (Revenants, #1)     Fortune's Pawn (Paradox, #1)     Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)

Stand-alones:

A Spear of Summer Grass     The Fault in Our Stars     Hearts in Darkness (Hearts in Darkness, #1)

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

Most of the books I’ve read and loved lately are by female authors, so that’s what I’d have to go with. This is probably the case because I’ve mostly been reading romances.  I’d love to read some by a male author, so if you have any good recommendations, please let me know in the comments!

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

My Kindle never leaves my person, so I have to go with Amazon. Even checking out library e-books, you can’t beat the ease of it – a few button clicks and you’re done. I love Barnes and Noble for hard copies, though. They are always my go-to when I need to pick up books with paper pages.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

TV shows, all the way. I love the nuances of a story that so often get cut out of movie adaptions. A TV show or miniseries (yes!) allows way more time for the story to be built up as it was originally intended. A movie series can do that too, of course, as long as it’s done right. Here’s looking at you, Hunger Games franchise!

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)     Pride and Prejudice     The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

I think I would go insane if I could only read 5 pages per day. I would probably end up giving up reading altogether to avoid the frustration. 5 books per week isn’t too far off from my current pace anyway; how hard could it be to boost it up a little?

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Professional reviewer – I have so much respect for authors. Not only are they creating something wonderful, they’re putting it all out there for the rest of us to judge. That must require nerves of steel. If that weren’t difficult enough, there is so much work going on behind the scenes to ensure that a book actually gets an audience in the first place!

As a professional reviewer, I would be able to enjoy the works of others all day, many of whom I thoroughly enjoy. And, with my current career path out of the way, I’d definitely be able to boost that reading pace up! 😉

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

I think I’d pick librarian. There’s something to be said for helping others find books to enjoy, and in a library, there’s no downside to taking a chance on something new!

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

I would rather read only my favorite genre. It’s my favorite for a reason and avoiding it would be about as bad as limiting myself to 5 pages per day…

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

I have to go with e-books for two reasons. First, it is SO convenient to be able to carry an entire library in my purse. Second, at least half of my reading occurs on a city bus or a university campus, and I’m not afraid to admit that I get embarrassed by book titles and cover images. I mean, come on…

Straddling the Line (Play by Play, #8)     SEAL Wolf Christmas (Heart of the Wolf)     Wild Heat (Hot Shots: Men of Fire, #1)

OH BOY, was it hard to limit myself to just three of these… While not what I would call favorites, these are some of the more giggle-inducing covers of books I’ve read within the last year.

Tag Note: When I knew I wanted to do this tag, I followed the tagging trail back to see where it started and cycled my way through at least 5 blogs referencing other blogs before I gave up looking for the original source. If this looks like fun, please use it and keep the tagging cycle going!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

