Review: Midnight Reckoning by Kendra Leigh Castle

Midnight Reckoning
Midnight Reckoning by Kendra Leigh Castle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

NOTE:  This review is for a book with mature content and sexy times!

Midnight Reckoning by Kendra Leigh Castle is the second book in the Dark Dynasties series. It begins several months after the conclusion of book one and follows the story of Jaden Harrison, Cait Sith vampire, and Lyra Black, Alpha’s daughter to the werewolf pack of Thorn. Hooray for both cat AND wolf shapeshifters 😉

Since this world is quite complex, I wouldn’t recommend this as a standalone; read Dark Awakening first!

I have mixed feelings. I wanted to really LOVE it. As it was, I did enjoy it, but it fell a little flat for me at times. I liked Jaden a lot, and his character drew me into the story as much as Tynan did in the first book. Unfortunately, also like the first book, I got lost toward the end – around two thirds through in this case. Something about the plot progression and character decisions started to seem muddled and I had a hard time understanding the shift of the natural flow.

The world building was great, as expected, and I loved learning more about all of the supernatural politics involved. The hook of each character’s personality and the complex world was certainly enough to entice me to read Damien’s story in Shadow Rising!

See my review on Goodreads for Some Particulars, including a steam rating.

Leave a Reply

