Review: Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer

Smart Girls Get What They Want

Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer is a contemporary young adult drama about Genevieve (“Gigi”) and her two best friends, Bea and Neerja. They are three of the smartest girls in school, but they’re stuck in their respective comfort zones. This is the story of how they each branch out and begin striving for more – despite occasional paralyzing fear and the usual high school drama.

“Be patient, Gigi. You haven’t even started living.”

The first several chapters of this book revolve around Gigi, her girl squad, and their usual routine. Once unexpected events occur, the snowball of change starts rolling and all of a sudden, they are each striving for new and terrifying goals.

“Hey, Einstein,” he whispered. “You did great back there. You’re my hero, you know that?”

“Hmm?”

He planted a gentle kiss on top of my head. “You heard me.”

He was right, I had. I just wanted him to say it again.

While most of this story didn’t revolve around guys, there were a few swoony moments here and there. I don’t want to give too much away to those who’d like to read the book, but most of the side characters are not simply how they seem. That definitely goes for Mike and “California Will,” too.

The best part of this story, was the girl squad, by far. I loved Gigi, Neerja, and Bea! I loved that they were smart, but each in different ways. I loved that they always sought to build each other up, rather than tear each other down. They also weren’t cookie-cutter stereotypical nerdy girls – they were girly, feisty, book-smart, clever, compassionate, artsy, athletic, and articulate. I would have loved to know these women in high school (or now, for that matter)!

We were beautiful.
“Three goddesses,” Neerja said.
“Three friends,” I said.

I highly recommend this book to fans of contemporary YA novels, or to anyone wanting a lighthearted, moderately inspiring story of stepping out of your comfort zone.

See my review on Goodreads for Some Particulars

Leave a Reply

