Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

I’ve decided to jump on the Top Ten Tuesday bandwagon! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in!

Today’s Theme: The Top Ten HYPED Books I’ve Never Read

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Sisterhood, #1)

10:  The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares – I did see the movie, though to be fair, I think most women in my generation have.

The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, #2)

9: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – I vividly remember a few months when this was the “It” book, but the premise never interested me. It still doesn’t. Maybe one day…

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

8: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – This is one of those books I’d never noticed for ages. That is, until someone mentioned it and I began hearing about it EVERYWHERE. It has since been added to my TBR list, and fairly close to the top, at that.

Looking for Alaska

7: Looking for Alaska by John Green – One day. When I’m in the mood for a really, really sad book by an author I love…

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

6: The Selection by Kiera Cass – This is one I’d really like to read, and it’s even fairly close to the top of my TBR list!

The Book Thief

5: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – It’s on my TBR shelf, I promise! I might even get to it one day (it’s not very close to the top of the list, though)…

Outlander (Outlander, #1)

4: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – Now we’re getting to some hyped books that I have no intention of reading. I’m sorry, die hard Outlander fans; rape and iffy-consent-sexy times really get to me.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

3: A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – This is another one that’s just not my thing. Too dark for me to want to pick it up during my free time.

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

2: Divergent by Veronica Roth – The Divergent trilogy is one that would normally be EXACTLY my cup of tea. Unfortunately, several reviews have led me to delay giving it a try for fear that I will loathe the third, and closing, book. To date, I haven’t even seen any of the movies, despite my love of the Hunger Games franchise. I’m sure I’ll give in eventually, but I HATE the feeling of obsessing over a series only to have it end horribly (pre-Kickstarter Veronica Mars, anyone?).

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)

1: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James – Nope. I’m not even a little sorry.

*****

If you’re interested in posting your own top ten list, check out this post over at The Broke and the Bookish!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I have The Da Vinci Code, the Selection , Fifty Shades of Grey and Outlander on my list as well. Not going to be reading those last three though, I think.

    I didn’t think Divergent was all that special.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG SO MANY GOOD BOOKS HERE. XD I do hope you try The Book Thief and The Selection! AFJDSL I LOVE THEM SO MUCH. Particularly The Book Thief (the movie is absolutely spectacular too, btw) and I’ve just started Game of Thrones and I’m so into that series, but I agree, it is rather dark. And gritty. And those books are HUGE. Omg. They take dedication. 0_0
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I highly recommend “Anna and the French Kiss.” I enjoyed reading that book though I assumed I wouldn’t like it when I first heard of it. As for “Divergent,” it is a gamble. I enjoyed the first book, hated the second, and didn’t bother with the third but there are some people who enjoyed them all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

