Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Celebrate Diversity

For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in!

Today’s Theme: Ten Books that Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

I love this TTT theme! I’ve broken up this week’s list into a few main categories. Note: all book cover images link to that book’s Goodreads page.

Books Celebrating Diversity of Race:

Hard to Hold on To (Hard Ink, #2.5)  Grave Phantoms (Roaring Twenties, #3)

Laura Kaye’s Hard Ink series is a heavy hitter with this list, and we’re starting here with one of its novellas, Hard to Hold on To. This is my favorite story in the series of those I’ve read so far.

Grave Phantoms is a lovely novel by Jenn Bennett in her Roaring Twenties series. Here’s my review for this one!

Books Celebrating Diversity of Sexual Orientation:

Riveted (Iron Seas, #3)  Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2)  City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)  Hard to Be Good (Hard Ink, #3.5)

Riveted by Meljean Brook is one of my Top 5 books read this year. The story features a main character from a secluded colony of women and the plot makes a strong statement about equality and acceptance regarding sexual orientation. The leading male is overcoming some stigma of his own given his many “mech” body parts. Here’s my review for this one!

Maintaining my streak of books making my TTT two weeks in a row, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins is making another appearance! Lola’s got two dads, and they are an adorable gay couple living in San Francisco. Here’s my review for this one.

I had to include City of Bones by Cassandra Clare on this list for Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood.

Time for another Hard Ink story! Hard to be Good is another novella of Laura Kaye’s series. I haven’t read it yet because I’m still waiting on one of the earlier books from the library, but I’m really excited for this one 😀

Miscellaneous Diversities:

Sugar  Dark Awakening (Dark Dynasties #1)  Entwined (Darkest London, #3.5)  Hard to Come By (Hard Ink, #3)

I haven’t read Sugar by Dierdre Riordan Hall yet, but it’s a book in which body image and self-worth take center stage. If you’ve read it, let me know what you thought in the comments!

Dark Awakening by Kendra Leigh Castle is an adult paranormal romance novel that takes place in a world with a complex social caste system. Throughout the book Castle writes some pretty strong social commentary about acceptance and judgement. Here’s my review for this one.

Entwined by Kristen Callihan is one of my favorite novellas, AND it’s from one of my favorite series, Darkest London. It made this list because Eamon, the male lead, lives his whole life being ostracized by his community due to his differences. This is the story of him finding acceptance, peace, and love.

To close this list, I’m turning back to Laura Kaye with Hard to Come By, another Hard Ink story. This one features a male lead with a prosthetic leg and a whole lot of emotional scars. I’m still waiting on my library copy to come through, so hopefully I’ll be posting a review for this soon!

***

Let me know about your own top ten in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Celebrate Diversity

Leave a Reply

