Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings

TTT 1.0

For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in!

Today’s Theme: Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read (Or Want to Read)

If there’s one thing I’ve discovered from this week’s TTT, it’s that there are an awful lot of Cinderella retellings! That and the fact that I haven’t read nearly enough of these books yet… Note: all book cover images link to that book’s Goodreads page.

Ella Enchanted  Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)  A Scorching Dilemma (The Rue Alliance, #2)  Mechanica

Cinderella:

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine – This is very loosely based on Cinderella, and it’s one of the books that I OBSESSED over as a middle grader. It will forever have a soft spot in my heart.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer – I have to confess, I haven’t read this one yet. But I JUST got my Kindle copy from the library, so it won’t be long, I promise!

A Scorching Dilemma by Shereen Vedam – I haven’t read this one yet, either, though I’ve read the preceding book (see below). I’m really excited about this because it’s about a man named Daniel Trenton, fondly known as the Cinder Fella.

Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell – This is an arc I received through Net Galley, and it’s set to be released in just a few weeks. It’s described as a steampunky Cinderella retelling. Hopefully I’ll have a review coming soon!

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)  Entwined  A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

Little Red Riding Hood: Scarlet by Marisa Meyer – The sequel to Cinder, this one’s also a fairytale retelling. The first two books of the series made my list because I own the hard copies, but I haven’t read either, yet. Reviews to hopefully come soon!

The Twelve Dancing Princesses: Entwined by Heather Dixon – I loved this book. I wasn’t familiar with the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses before reading it, but that didn’t hinder my enjoyment. Here’s a link to my review.

Beauty and the Beast: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – This is another that I haven’t read yet. I’ve heard it’s a loose fairytale retelling. Just waiting for my library queue to pop!

The Little Android (The Lunar Chronicles, #0.6)  A Devilish Slumber (The Rue Alliance, #1)

The Little Mermaid: The Little Android by Marissa Meyer – I actually came across this by accident while digging through potential books for this list. The Little Mermaid was my absolute favorite Disney movie as a young child so I KNEW I had to read this when I stumbled on it. It’s a short story available to read for free on Wattpad, and it’s set in the same world as the rest of the The Lunar Chronicles series.

Sleeping Beauty: A Devilish Slumber by Shereen Vedam – This is the first book in Vedam’s Rue Alliance series. It’s inspired by Sleeping Beauty and I really enjoyed it. Here’s  a link to my review.

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1)  The Princess Bride

To make up for only having 9 fairytale retellings, here are two more stories I’ve really been wanting to read that are sort of in a sister category:

The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer – This is the first book in Chris Colfer’s childern’s series, The Land of Stories. I’ve read that it’s reminiscent of traditional fairytales, and I’ve been wanting to read it for a while.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman – I’ve heard from several friends that the book is amazing and I should read it. I’ll get to it eventually, I promise!

***

Did you have a hard time thinking of your own list? Let me know about your top ten in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairytale Retellings

Leave a Reply

