Time to Break Out the Book Jar…

 

The Book Jar

I’ve been in a bit of a reading funk lately… I keep picking up new books, reading maybe the first chapter, then putting them back down, not to be opened again because I’m just not feeling it. Or something.

This has led to a few things: stress about writing new posts because it’s hard to post reviews without reading new books first, partial re-reads of old favorites because I still have that gosh-darn daily commute to endure, and a lot of unfortunate first impressions that don’t even begin to do these books justice. And like most funks, it’s a negative feedback loop that’s really hard to beat!

So here we are, mid-book-funk, and I’m breaking out a Book Jar! I’ve seen a few of these around the internet, and it seems like just the thing to shake things up. Mine is a recycled jar, hand-painted by me, currently containing 52 little papers, each with a unique book written on it.

Book Jar

Here’s the general criteria I used to fill the jar:

  • Most of them are books from all over my TBR pile.
  • Many of them are recent victims of my book funk that deserve a second chance.
  • A handful are old favorites that never fail to bring a smile to my face.
  • None of them are borrowed or have other time restrictions.
  • Each of them is commute ready and already downloaded onto my Kindle.

So here’s my plan: whenever I feel the weight of the book funk, am feeling anxious about picking the perfect book to read next, or just plain can’t decide, I’ll turn to the book jar! To make it even easier to use, I’m going to enact a “best of three rule,” meaning I can pick as many as three books from the jar before choosing which one to read. (Any unpicked books must go back in the jar, of course.)

***

Without further ado, it’s time to make the first pick! And the three choices are…

  1. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – I will now shamefully admit that I raced through the first 5.5 books of The Mortal Instruments series, only to stop halfway through book 6… Yeah, I know…
  2. The Mad Tatter by J.M. Darhower – It was a Kindle Daily Deal, and I just couldn’t resist the cover and hilarious contemporary romance title.
  3. The Kraken King by Meljean Brook – This one has had quite a presence on my blog lately, and it’s one of my absolute favorites, but I really want my next read to be something new.

This time around, I’m going with… The Mad Tatter! J.M. Darhower is a new author for me, and I can be picky about contemporary romance, but this is the only truly new book of the three choices. Here’s hoping it’s a good one!

The Mad Tatter

Review to come…

Update: The book has been read and the review has been written!

5 thoughts on “Time to Break Out the Book Jar…

Leave a Reply

