Review: Wife by Wednesday by Catherine Bybee

Wife by Wednesday (The Weekday Brides, #1)
Wife by Wednesday by Catherine Bybee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

NOTE:  This review is for a book with mature content and sexy times!

Wife by Wednesday by Catherine Bybee is the first book in Weekday Brides, a contemporary romance series that is centered around a matching agency that pairs couples based on shared life plans and temporary, contractual marriages. This series opener focuses on Samantha, the owner of the Alliance matchmaking firm, and Blake Harrison, a British duke with a successful international shipping company and one of Alliance’s new clients.

This is the definition of a beach book, complete with unexpected true love, a dreamy, super-rich hero who also happens to be a duke, private jet trips to and from the estate in England, and a cornucopia of charming side characters that enhance the story before inevitably starring in books of their own. I’m not ashamed to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was the PERFECT de-stresser and I’m looking forward to reading through the rest of the series.

I can be picky about contemporary romance for several reasons, but my most notable pet peeves are: alpha jackass heroes, and endless communication failures. Regarding the first, I like reading about men who are confident and “take charge” in an alpha way, but I also love respect, especially when it’s directed toward romantic partners. Regarding the second, I know that communication mishaps can open the door to all manner of plot devices, but they get old really fast. Nothings pulls me out of a story more than endlessly deepening frustration over issues that could have easily been avoided with a little honest communication.

Wife by Wednesday has an excellent balance of these things, with a hero who is just alpha enough to be sexy while still being highly respectful, and just enough miscommunication (largely caused by others) to throw a wrench in the mix for a couple chapters. This is a story about two people falling in love under unusual circumstances and finding a happily ever after together. If you don’t like fluffy books, this is not the one for you…

Other than that, there’s not too much to say about this one. The writing was fluid, and that combined with my love of romance kept me reading nonstop until I reached the end. I liked both Samantha and Blake, but I wouldn’t call them groundbreaking. All in all, this is a lovely vacation book that will leave you smiling. My inner fluff addict is greatly looking forward to the the next book, Married by Monday.

See my review on Goodreads for Some Particulars, including a steam rating!

Leave a Reply

