Review: Hard to Be Good by Laura Kaye

Hard to Be Good (Hard Ink, #3.5)(A quick note before I dive into the review: I think this cover will go down in history as one of my least favorite romance covers ever…)

Hard to Be Good by Laura Kaye
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

NOTE:  This review is for a book with mature content and sexy times!

Hard to Be Good by Laura Kaye is a novella in the Hard Ink contemporary romance series. It falls right between books 3 and 4, and while it is primarily about Jeremy and Charlie’s romance, it does fill in some of the gaps of the progressing story. If you aren’t a novella reader, or aren’t an M/M reader, it would be safe to skip this one. That being said, it’s a WONDERFUL story and I highly recommend it!

Love knows no distinctions, it only knows the joy of finding in another everything your soul needs to feel complete.

I loved Jeremy the moment his character was introduced in book one (Hard as It Gets), and I was over the moon when a flirtation between him and Charlie popped up in the first novella (Hard to Hold on To). I’m so glad that Kaye included this story in the series, even though it doesn’t follow the usual series pattern of sticking with one orientation. This was actually my first M/M read so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Because of that I’m not sure what to say about that aspect of the story except that I really enjoyed it. I’d be happy to give other M/M books a try in the future, especially any by Kaye.

The romance was pretty short and quickly progressing, but I thought it developed naturally given the fact that Jeremy and Charlie became fast friends over the course of the series before reaching this point. The style fits right in with the other Hard Ink stories, and the characters are respectful, loving, passionate, and genuinely good people. I spent the whole read with a giant grin plastered to my face. I really am a sucker for a good romance 🙂

Tattoos make another appearance, of course, with Charlie getting his first. Being a computer genius, it’s only fitting that he elected to do a quote in ASCII – the computer language that converts letters to 0’s and 1’s. The following means “No Fear” and Jeremy inked it down Charlie’s side ribs.

01001110 01101111 00100000 01000110 01100101 01100001 01110010

As I’ve said a couple times now, I loved this story. I’ve already read it twice, and I’m sure I will read it many more times in the future. It’s definitely an asset to the series, so if you’re a fan of the other Hard Ink books, please give this one a try!

PS – Here’s my favorite of Jeremy’s dirty t-shirts from this installment:

“I’m trying to give up sexual innuendos. But it’s hard… SO HARD!”

 

See my review on Goodreads for Some Particulars, including a steam rating!

Leave a Reply

