Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Syllabus If I Taught “Kickass Heroines 101”

TTT 1.0

For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in! (Note: all book cover images in this post link to that book’s Goodreads page.)

Today’s Theme: Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101

I’m a day late on this one, but better late than never! It took me forever to figure out which theoretical class I was going to teach because my interests within the romance genre are pretty broad. I finally settled on one common thread that links together so many of the books I love: the Kickass Heroine. She’s compelling, capable, and intelligent – not to mention a force to be reckoned with – and she can be found in any genre! To that effect, I tried to come up with a well-rounded “syllabus” that includes a variety of genres and different incarnations of “kickass.”

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)  Grim Shadows (Roaring Twenties, #2)  Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)  Venetia

Celaena – Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas – (YA Fantasy) Starting the list with a bang, Celaena is both deadly and cunning. For fans of YA fantasy with a hefty does of assassins and political intrigue, this is a must read! (Here’s a link to my review of book one.)

Hadley Bacall – Grim Shadows by Jenn Bennett – (Historical – Roaring Twenties) One of the foremost experts on macabre artifacts, Hadley is sharp as a tack and has spent most of her life in museums. When an ancient Egyptian curse brings her out into a world more suited to Indiana Jones, raucous adventures ensue 🙂 (Here’s a link to my review.)

Cat Crawford – Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost – (Paranormal) Cat is the ultimate vampire hunter. I love this series because it spans a decade or so of her life, and you really get to watch her grow, both emotionally and as a force of nature. If you’re a fan of darker vampire stories, you should definitely give this one a try.

Venetia Lanyon – Venetia by Georgette Heyer – (Historical – Regency) Heyer has written so many wonderful heroines, but of those I’ve read so far, Venetia is my favorite. She’s witty, honest, a bit sheltered from the world, and not afraid to go for what she wants in life. (Here’s a link to my review.)

Die for Me (Revenants, #1)  Riveted (Iron Seas, #3)  Fortune's Pawn (Paradox, #1)

Kate Mercier – Revenants Trilogy by Amy Plum – (YA Paranormal) I’ve mentioned this series on my blog several times now, and it’s because I just can’t get enough of it. Kate is loyal, intelligent, hard-working, compassionate, and the list goes on and on. (Here’s a link to my review of book one.)

Annika Fridasdotter – Riveted by Meljean Brook – (Steampunk) Annika stands out on this list, because there are plenty of things she doesn’t excel at (most of which involve social interactions), but she is so loving and open. It’s refreshing to read about a character who isn’t weighed down by social constructs and takes risks most of us would be terrified of. (Here’s a link to my review.)

Devi Morris – Paradox Trilogy by Rachel Bach – (Science Fiction) Devi is another warrior heroine. Her goal in life is to join the most elite rank of guards at the disposal of her king, and she will fight tooth and nail to get there.

Winterblaze (Darkest London, #3)  A Spear of Summer Grass  After the End (After the End, #1)

Poppy Lane – Winterblaze by Kristen Callihan – (Steampunk/Fantasy) Poppy Lane is an ice elemental. She also happens to be the leader of London’s supernatural police force and intelligence agency. This series on the whole is a great blend of steampunk and fantasy – I highly recommend it!

Delilah Drummond – A Spear of Summer Grass – (Historical – Roaring Twenties) Delilah’s magnificence is in her force of will. She has both good and bad qualities, but she does everything with aplomb, and she’s willing to sacrifice it all to do what she feels is right. If you’re in the mood for a compelling read with a vivid setting in Africa, give this one a go!

Juneau – After the End Duology by Amy Plum – (YA Dystopia) I had to put Juneau on this list. Having grown up in the Alaskan wilderness, she’s truly a jack of all trades. If there’s anyone I would want to be stranded with in a life or death situation, Juneau would be her! (Here’s a link to my review of book one.)

***

What course would you teach? Let me know about your top ten in the comments!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Syllabus If I Taught “Kickass Heroines 101”

Leave a Reply

