Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

TTT 1.0

For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in! (Note: all book cover images in this post link to that book’s Goodreads page.)

Today’s Theme: Ten Characters that you Just Didn’t Click With

I feel the need to preface this list by saying that there are a lot of books and authors on here that I really love! There was just something about each of these characters that kept me from getting too attached.

Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)  Kindling the Moon (Arcadia Bell, #1)  Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)

(From my Favorites List)

Alexia from Soulless by Gail Carriger – (Steampunk) I love almost everything about this book, but while Alexia is fun to read about, I just don’t feel a deeper connection to her character.

Lon from the Arcadia Bell series by Jenn Bennett – (Paranormal/Fantasy) This may or may not be due to the mustache. And the age difference between Lon and Arcadia. Here’s a link to my review of book one.

Angela from the Unearthly trilogy by Cynthia Hand – (YA Paranormal/Fantasy) I know Angela is supposed to be a lovable side character, but I just can’t get past some of the decisions she makes. Or how self-centered she can be…

New Moon (Twilight, #2)  Splintered (Splintered, #1)  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)  The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

(From books that I enjoyed)

Jacob from the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer – (YA Paranormal/Fantasy) Please don’t hate me for this! I like Jacob just fine and wish him the best, I just would never want to be in a relationship with the guy.

Jeb from Splintered by A.G. Howard – (YA Fantasy) Jeb kept riding this weird line between controlling and indifferent that drove me crazy. I haven’t read the rest of the trilogy, so maybe this goes away as the series progresses.

Harry from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – (YA Fantasy) I feel like I’m including this at the risk of losing all my followers. Let me just say, that I really enjoyed this series. Harry was, unfortunately, my least favorite of all the protagonists. By a lot…

Gale from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – (YA Dystopia) Gale mostly made me angry throughout the whole series. His attitude reminds me of Dean from the later seasons of Gilmore Girls – so bitter and self-pitying. Not my favorite qualities to read about.

1984  The Iron Duke (Iron Seas, #1)  Heart of the Wolf (Heart of the Wolf, #1)

(Can’t say I enjoyed these ones…)

Winston from 1984 by George Orwell – (Dystopia) I’m really glad to have read this book as part of my literary education, though I definitely didn’t enjoy it. While I connected with the circumstances of the story very strongly, I didn’t with the main character, at all.

Rhys from The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook – (Steampunk) Meljean Brook is one of my favorite authors, and I talk about her steampunk series on this blog all the time, but I could not stand Rhys, the Iron Duke. Controlling, pushy, domineering – he has all the asshole-ish traits of a negatively stereotypical “Alpha” hero.

EVERYONE from Heart of the Wolf by Terry Spear – (Shapeshifter Romance) I couldn’t handle anyone in this book. Whining, control issues, practically forced mating. Nope, not for me!

***

Which characters couldn’t you connect with? Let me know about your own top ten in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

    1. Harry certainly does get all my sympathy. The repeated pattern of him being kept in the dark, getting upset, then jumping in anyway was one of the things that really wore on me as the series progressed. When will everyone else in the story learn that keeping your “secret weapon” in the dark is not a good idea??

      Like

Leave a Reply

