Top Ten Tuesday: Books for a Cozy Halloween

TTT 1.0 Halloween

For those who don’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a new theme and everyone is invited to join in! (Note: all book cover images in this post link to that book’s Goodreads page.)

Today’s Theme: Top Ten Books for a Cozy Halloween

This week’s theme is a Halloween freebie, and since it’s one of my favorite holidays, I had to do a post. Some of my earliest memories are of Halloween day, reading a bunch of library books behind the couch and anxiously waiting for trick-or-treating time. I’m not a huge horror fan, but I love paranormal stories and am always up for cozy Halloween fun. All of this comes together to inspire my freebie theme. Each of these books has an element of paranormal/fantasy, and they are all perfect for a cup of cocoa, a cozy chair, and some candlelight.

Carry On  Penelope  Die for Me (Revenants, #1)  Velvet (Velvet Trilogy #1)  The Beautiful Ashes (Broken Destiny, #1)

Young Adult:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – Wizard School! This is such a fun, quirky book, and it’s perfect for autumn. (My Review)

Penelope by Marilyn Kaye – This one is a fairy tale type of story. I love watching the movie version around Halloween.

Die for Me by Amy Plum – This is the first in a trilogy that takes place in Paris and is full of awesome Revenants, undead characters that repeatedly risk their lives to save others. (My Review)

Velvet by Temple West – Vampires! This one is very similar to Twilight, but with some key differences that make it better, in my opinion. Check out my review for more details.

The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost – Angels & Demons! This one takes place traveling between realms of humans and realms of demons. It’s a great, darker YA/NA read for Halloween. (My Review)

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)  Summoning the Night (Arcadia Bell, #2)  Bitter Spirits (Roaring Twenties, #1)  Uprooted  Wicked as They Come (Blud, #1)

Adult:

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost – Vampires and Vampire Hunters! I love this whole series, but the first book is especially suited to Halloween. (And it’s full of awesome butt-kicking.)

Summoning the Night by Jenn Bennett – Magicians, Demons, and a Kidnapper with a plan for a Halloween ritual. Despite being the second book in a series, this one could be read as a standalone. (My Review)

Bitter Spirits by Jenn Bennett – This one follows a ghost medium in San Francisco during the Roaring Twenties. (My Review)

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – The villain of this book is a corrupted wood that has the power to infect people and animals, driving them insane. (My Review)

Wicked as they Come by Delilah S. Dawson – More Vampires! Well, Bludmen, and bludbunnies, and pretty much every other type of vampiric creature… (My Review)

***

If you are on the lookout for some Halloween freebies to add to your TBR, check out my post on the Thirteen Days of Halloween! This event is a great way to learn about some new favorites and get a bunch of free books!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books for a Cozy Halloween

  1. I’ve had Wicked As They Come on my TBR for a while, I just haven’t gotten around to reading it! I also have Halfway to the Grave on my TBR. But gah! All your adult recs sound great, and now I seriously want to read them all lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

