Minute Review: Silver Lining by Maggie Osborne

Silver Lining

Silver Lining by Maggie Osborne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The situation demanded some serious swearing and bullying, but she couldn’t let herself cut loose, not with Sunshine in the kitchen. Having a child nearby placed a severe crimp in her style.

“You are full of… horse feathers, cowboy.” Leaning over him, she stared hard into his eyes. “I didn’t work like a damned dog out there and freeze my butt off–excuse me, Sunshine–so we could just let those damned–‘scuse me, Sunshine–stupid cows starve or freeze. And we aren’t going to find a buyer for them now, that’s for damned sure–excuse me, Sunshine.”

This story can be read one of two ways: either it’s completely unrealistic and frustrating, or it’s a wacky, amusing, almost farcical Western Romance in which virtue wins out and the baddies get their just desserts. Fortunately for me, by about 30% in I knew I would highly enjoy it as one of the latter 🙂

Recommendation: Read this if you enjoy Hallmark Channel Westerns or are intrigued by a mashup between My Fair Lady, Doctor Quinn Medicine Woman, and The Importance of Being Earnest.

Leave a Reply

