Minute Review: The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy, #1)The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (The Paper Magician Trilogy, Book 1)
My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Remember that you are much different now than you were an hour ago, Ceony. Before you merely read about magic; now you have it. Denying it won’t make you return to ordinary.”

This is a lighthearted and whimsical story with wonderful characters, humans and enchantments alike. It did read a little bit like a debut novel, but that’s alright, and I’m looking forward to continuing Ceony and Emery’s story in The Glass Magician.

Recommendation: I highly recommend this if you love quirky magician stories, dogs, origami, and/or intellectually adorable characters.

Side note about genre: I’ve seen this categorized as both Adult and Young Adult Fiction. It fits pretty well into both categories, and I think readers of any age can enjoy this story.

2 thoughts on “Minute Review: The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

  1. I’m glad you liked it! Was that not the sweetest thing ever when he gave her the dog?! The genre is confusing though. It kind of seems like young adult, except it had some really gruesome kinda stuff that make me feel like it’s really for adults. Anyway, your recommendation is the perfect description 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That dog is probably my favorite character in the whole book 🙂

      I see what you mean about the occasional gruesome element, which is why I think it still fits in the Adult Fiction genre. I also can’t help but think of YA books that are way more violent, like The Hunger Games. It seems like the more I read the more I find books that defy the genre boxes a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

