Review: Love in the Light by Laura Kaye

Love in the Light (Hearts in Darkness, #2)
Love in the Light by Laura Kaye (Hearts in Darkness, Book 2)
My Rating: 4 of 5 stars
Release Date: 1/12/16

Note: This review is for the much anticipated sequel to my favorite novella. To learn more about book 1, check out my review of Hearts in Darkness.

“I love you so much it feels like a part of me is gone when we’re not together. I love you because you’re beautiful and kind and smart and funny. Because you accepted me when I didn’t even accept myself.”

I have to admit, I had mixed feelings when I learned that there would be a sequel to Hearts in Darkness. I think that stems from the fact that I loved it so much as it was – not every great story needs another installment, and some things are perfect just as they are. That being said, I’ve loved everything I’ve read from Kaye, so I knew I had to get my hands on this as soon as possible. If anyone could do justice to an extension of Makenna and Caden’s story, it would be her.

While I didn’t love this one as much as its predecessor, I wasn’t disappointed in the least.

Love in the Light is really Caden’s story as he confronts the demons of his past and learns to hold on to the future he could have with Makenna. This makes for a more somber story than Hearts in Darkness, but it’s also more realistic, with real human struggles and emotions. One thing I love about Kaye’s work is that she’s not afraid to confront dark issues like depression, PTSD, and thoughts of suicide. When she writes about heroes who’ve known tragedy, they face many of the aftereffects that real humans experience in those circumstances.

In this story, Caden is forced to confront those aftereffects and find a way to move on with his life. Thankfully, he has friends, mentors, and Makenna to help him fight his demons.

All in all, Hearts in Darkness remains my favorite novella, and I’m glad to know what happens with Makenna and Caden down the road. I got the best of both worlds with this – a pleasing sequel that adds to the story without detracting from the appeal of Hearts in Darkness as a standalone.

***

(This ARC was generously provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.)

One thought on “Review: Love in the Light by Laura Kaye

Leave a Reply

