Minute Review: Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

Silent in the Grave (Lady Julia Grey, #1)Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn (Lady Julia Grey, Book 1)
My Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching upon the floor.

This story had me hooked from the first line (see above), and while it wasn’t a book that I raced through, I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. I loved the Victorian setting, the colorful cast of characters, and Julie Grey’s particular blend of English Gentlewoman and closeted eccentric.

Recommendation: Read this if you enjoy bumbled murder mysteries and slow burn romances set in the Victorian era, especially if you’re looking to dive into a new series. Also give this a shot if you’re a fan of Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series – they share some great qualities.

Leave a Reply

